Making Friends and Drinking Coffee

I know I said on Twitter that I would be reviewing Gangster Squad today, but that’s going to have to wait.

With that feeling of restlessness creeping up my legs once again, I grabbed my purse and keys and made for my nearest Starbucks, which isn’t actually the nearest but is my favorite and where I worked this past summer. As I gave the cashier, a handsome man with dark hair and broad shoulders, my order, another employee got into line behind me.

I could tell he was on his break, because the workers always doff their aprons and hats when their not working. He gestured to my pants, saying that he liked them. Who wouldn’t really? They were practically denim on an acid trip with the multicolored flower design that ranged from deep purple to pale pink.

I thanked him, and he introduced himself as Adam. Adam, all limbs and blonde hair, told me he had just started working here a few months ago and was happily surprised to learn that I used to work at this very store.

We chatted for a minute while I gave the other cashier my card and name, and then I went to a table at one of the huge windows.

For a while I sat there with my peppermint mocha and book on feminism until four young women climbed out of their car and entered the buzzing store.

The first thing I noticed upon seeing them was that they all looked different. None of them sported the same hairstyle, an unfortunate trend I had come to notice while working as a barista. I sat stunned and in awe for a moment, thinking, This is what body and appearance diversity looks like. This is what I want to see in movies and television shows. (I would be remiss if I neglected to mention that the diversity did not go as far as race. They were all white.)

One woman, whom I would come to know as Jane, wore a halter top that barely covered her stomach, and she looked completely comfortable in it. Another, Sarah, dressed all in black and had her dark hair pulled into a fluffy ponytail. A redhead, Anna Catherine, swooshed along in an ankle-length skirt and brown leggings. Page, who walked close to the front of the group, had dark hair on her arms and a small birthmark on her forehead.

Part of me wanted to approach them and tell them how amazing they were and how beautiful they each were in their differences. But I have always been shy, though I am working on it currently, and I stayed put.

I needn’t have worried though, as Jane came up to me and complimented my boots, which laced up in the front and zipped along the sides. We talked for a moment on how we liked this style of boots, and soon the whole group was gathered at my table.

For what could have been an hour, we discussed university life, coffee, and high school marching band. It was truly a wonderful moment for me because I realized just how diverse people’s personalities can be. In no time, I discovered the shy one, the quirky one, the outgoing one, and the calm one. They were all so different, and yet I could tell they were good friends from the way they laughed and leaned on each other.

I only wish I had spoken up and asked to exchange numbers so we could continue our conversation later, but my shyness overcame me. They walked out with waves and friendly words, and I hope we meet again, perhaps when I’m back at Starbucks for the summer.

I do not know if these college women will ever read this post or even know of this blog, but I would hope that they know just how much their laughter and conversation improved my day. I wish them the safest journey back to their campus, and I hope we may cross paths again in the near future.

2 thoughts on “Making Friends and Drinking Coffee

Leave a Reply

